Macaroni and Cheese: Part I

There’s a certain lack of consistency in my family’s food-related decision making. Add macaroni and cheese to the list. As kids, my sister and I ate from the blue box with the powdered orange cheese (but never with hot dogs…weird). I didn’t know that people made their own until I first had it at my in-laws house.

Mac and cheese has attained comfort food status; a harbinger of our childhood. And, like most comfort foods, it’s wildly unhealthy. My mother-in-law is no stranger to calorie-packed meals and her recipe for macaroni and cheese is no different. The final product is a dense blend of pasta and cheese that fills you with no need for seconds.

I’ve tweaked the recipe from time to time, adding some cajun seasoning and using different cheeses (fontina, queso blanco, havarti), but this is the base recipe. Tomorrow, I’m going to offer a different take on the dish, utilizing one of my favorite ingredients.

Macaroni & Cheese
by Anne DeMarchi

  • 2 cup elbows
  • 3 tb butter
  • 2 tb flour
  • 2 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • dash pepper
  • 2 cup shredded cheese (based on preference; sharp cheddar and mozzarella make a nice contrast)

Cook pasta in a pot of salted, boiling water according to the directions on the package. In a medium sauce pan, melt butter and blend with flour. Add milk and cook, stirring until thick. Add salt, pepper and cheese. Stir until cheese melts and keep stove warm to prevent sticking.

Drain pasta and mix with cheese sauce. Combine in buttered oven-safe bowl and top with bread crumbs and foil. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes.

9 thoughts on “Macaroni and Cheese: Part I”

  1. Like you I see macaroni cheese (no ‘and’ in the UK) as comfort food. There is nothing better than curling up with a bowl of it when you’ve had a bad day! It was one of the first meals I ever learnt to make as a vegetarian teenager and I seemed to live on it through my university years! It’s still a handy standby now when the cupboards are feeling bare! Always make the cheese sauce – it tastes so much better than the packet mixes and hardly takes any time to do. You’ve made me hungry now!

  2. I didn’t eat a lot of mac and cheese in college…mostly soup and microwavable noodles. Now I can’t see making macaroni and cheese from a packet.

    If you liked this, keep your eye out for tomorrow’s entry.

Leave a comment