MYO: Herbes de Provence

I have a love-hate relationship with Wegmans. No grocery store mixes value, quality and selection with such great balance. I love Whole Foods, but I’d need that fifth job to shop there.

One of the things I hate most about Wegmans is there here today, gone tomorrow approach to merchandising. I’m certain that Wegmans has a merchandise management system that can track how many bulbs of garlic I’ve ever purchased. After all, the Shoppers Club card isn’t all about savings.

Wegmans used to make their own herbes de provence blend, which became a fixture in my kitchen. “Used to” because they apparently discontinued before Christmas, when I was looking to purchase more. Instead, I made my own, which I’m pretty happy with.

Jared’s Herbes de Provence Blend

  • 3 tb dried thyme
  • 3 tb dried rosemary
  • 2 tb dried marjoram
  • 2 tb dried basil
  • 2 tb dried oregano
  • 2 tb dried savory
  • 2 tb dried and crushed fennel seed

Add one by one to an airtight container. Shake to mix. Should store for up to six months.

27 thoughts on “MYO: Herbes de Provence”

Leave a comment