Wednesday Dinner: Roasted Turkey Breast

When I was growing up turkey was relegated to Thanksgiving, and Thanksgiving only. Sure, we got turkey breast at the deli counter, but it was a rare occasion that one would be roasted for dinner outside of Thanksgiving week.

Let me tell you about what would happen the day before Thanksgiving. Get this…for dinner on Wednesday night we’d have turkey. My parents, geniuses that they were, would roast an enormous turkey so that we would have leftovers for the week. So, guess what I didn’t want to eat the next day? More damn turkey.

(I mean, who does that? Who cooks a turkey the day before Thanksgiving for dinner with the intent of creating leftovers, especially when we would leave my aunt’s house with leftovers? That was almost the worst part about it. You want to know why I’m writing The Weight Loss Story? Because my parents decided that five pounds of leftover turkey from Thanksgiving dinner wasn’t enough. We needed another 15 pounds. Rant over.)

This recipe starts with a homemade brine to enhance the flavor and keep it moist (my Thanksgiving turkey uses a dry salting technique). No starch with dinner tonight. Just some steamed green beans. Get the turkey brined the night before and this meal comes together in about 30-45 minutes. And, I just checked the receipt, Wegmans has the turkey breasts for $5.99 a pound. All in all, a fairly inexpensive weeknight meal.

Roasted Brined Turkey Breast

  • 1 cup white balsamic vinegar
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • liberal pinch of herbes de provence
  • 1 pound boneless split turkey breast
  • salt and pepper

Combine the dry ingredients in a mixing bowl. Add the vinegar and water, and whisk together until sugar and salt dissolve. Add turkey to plastic bag or deep bowl and cover with brine. Allow to refrigerate for at least eight hours (I put mine together the night before).

Preheat over to 450 degrees. Remove turkey from brine and set in a baking dish. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and herbes de provence, and sear the roast in the oven for 20 minutes. Reduce oven heat to 350 and roast for 20 minutes (use the 20 minutes per pound rule). Remove the roast from the oven and let set on a plate for 10 minutes before slicing.

One thought on “Wednesday Dinner: Roasted Turkey Breast”

  1. M’mm! I almost picked some turkey up when I was shopping Tuesday, but with the corned beef leftovers this week I decided not to get it. Now I wish I had. Loved your rant, too. Gave me a good laugh!

Leave a Reply

