Tuesday Dinner: Andouille Sausage and Rice

2014-09-09 at 17-21-58

On my kitchen counter, near my stove, is a 15-ounce can of Goya black beans. They were 89 cents at Wegmans. I purchased it on Saturday with the intention of using the beans in tonight’s dinner.

Dinner is done. Plates are in the dishwasher. The pan is air drying. And the beans remain, in their can, in the same spot. 

2014-09-09 at 17-07-00

This happens from time to time, but with minor ingredients, and I usually catch it. Somehow, I eliminated one of the title ingredients of this dinner.

I’ll admit that I was rushing. I stopped to pick up a prescription, which took a little longer than normal as the woman at the pharmacy drive-thru lane was confused by the spelling of my name after I spelled it out loud. I also left work a little later than normal, adding to my late arrival and rushed prep. Everything here worked out fine, but I’m thinking that the beans would have added a little more flavor and heft to dinner.

I’m a dolt.

WHAT WORKED: Wegmans makes a cured andouille sausage, but it’s pricey and not that great. I’ve come to enjoy Johnsonville’s New Orleans Style Spicy Smoked Sausage. It’s what I used this summer in the shrimp boil. It has a nice spice and smoke to it that adds a robust flavor to the cooking liquid of this, and other, dishes.

WHAT DIDN’T: I think we covered that.

WHAT DID THE WIFE SAY: “It was fine without the beans, but I can see how the awesomeness beans would make it better.” She really like black beans.

WILL IT MAKE ANOTHER APPEARANCE?: I think I have an obligation to make it correctly.

2014-09-09 at 17-21-33

Andouille Sausage and Rice
By Jared Paventi

  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 sweet or Vidalia onion, diced
  • 1 red bell pepper, stemmed, seeded and chopped
  • 14 oz. smoked Andouille sausage, sliced into 1/4-inch rounds
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 tsp. smoked paprika
  • 2 cups room temperature tap water
  • 1 cup basamati rice, uncooked
  • 15 oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed (optional, apparently)
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

2014-09-09 at 17-05-19

Add oil to a large pan over high heat. When it begins to shimmer, add the onion and pepper. Cook 3 to 5 minutes, or until the onion is translucent. Reduce the heat to medium and add the sausage, cooking until the pepper and sausage brown slightly.

Add garlic, cumin, paprika, rice, beans and water. Return the heat to high, stir to combine and bring the liquid to a boil. Cover, reduce heat to medium, and cook until rice is tender, 20 minutes.

Use salt and pepper to adjust flavors. Serve hot.

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Dinner: Andouille Sausage and Rice”

Leave a Reply

