Meatless Monday: Pasta With Greens and Feta

2014-08-04 at 17-24-30

I bought a bunch of chard a week or so ago at the market. It went into the crisper and didn’t move an inch for a week. I didn’t have a plan for it, really, but I try to buy whatever looks good on Monarch Farms‘ table and the chard had a nice array of color.

Monarch is one of my favorite stops on Saturday at the market. They are a non-certified organic farm from Cortland County and their greens are always first rate. Anyhow, I bought the chard with no plan for cooking it and then forgot about it until this weekend while making my grocery list.

2014-08-04 at 17-01-36I’m not much for grilling my greens and a huge pasta or braised veggie dish seemed like far too much work and hear for a summer day. Instead, I used a recipe that I found at The Kitchn, one of my standby sites for recipes.

2014-08-04 at 16-42-54

WHAT WORKED: The greens. They were still in good shape and had great color. This was also a rather simple dish: four ingredients and about 30 minutes of active time.

WHAT DIDN’T: Wegmans. My store carries feta in two sizes: big and bigger. I want about 4 oz. of feta here. Instead, I get my choice of 8 or 16 oz. Now, having shopped at some of the worst grocery stores in America (Albertson’s, Food Lion and Ralph’s, to name a few), I shouldn’t complain about the size of a container of feta cheese. I just wish they hadn’t discontinued the smaller sizes.

WHAT DID THE WIFE SAY: “This is really good.”

WILL IT MAKE ANOTHER APPEARANCE: Yes. It has the makings of a filling and quick wintertime pasta.

Pasta With Greens and Feta
Adapted from the original published at The Kitchn

  • 4 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 medium to large onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 head of Swiss or other chard, leaves and stems chopped roughly
  • 1 lb. penne
  • 4 oz. crumbled feta cheese
  • kosher 
salt

Bring a stockpot of water to boil over high heat. Salt generously.

Add oil to a large skillet over medium heat, cooking until it shimmers. Add the onions and cook 10 minutes, or until translucent but not brown. Add garlic and cook until fragrant, 2 minutes.

Add pasta to the stockpot and cook to one-minute short of the package’s directions for al dente (Trader Joe’s organic penne cooks in 9 minutes).

2014-08-04 at 17-00-48

Add the chard and cook 10 minutes until tender. Add a ladleful of pasta cooking water with about 1 minute to go.

2014-08-04 at 17-01-14Drain the pasta and transfer to the skillet, tossing with the greens.

2014-08-04 at 17-22-49Add half of the feta cheese to your serving bowl. Pour the greens and pasta in the bowl then top with the remaining cheese. Toss with a large serving spoon and serve.

Leave a Reply

