Tappy-Yucka

gotmilkThis hat means one thing: I need a head covering to work lunch at our adult day program. Wearing a hairnet, dear reader, was simply not going to happen.

I don’t mind it. Truth be told, it’s actually one of the fun things I get to do during the day, though it only crops up every few months. Being on the day program side of the building helps me keep perspective on what I’m doing on the office side of the building.

Friday’s lunch was corn dogs, french fries, steamed carrots…and tapioca pudding. French fries are fine. The carrots? Whatever. Corn dogs? Only if there is a lot of mustard and Nexium. The tapioca…I cracked the can open with the hand-crank can opener, took the top off and nearly vomited on dessert. It was like a big can of little eyes staring back at me.

Listen, I love tobiko. I have enjoyed caviar. But the sight of little tapioca balls suspended in white slop was more than I could handle. The only place in the western hemisphere where tapioca should be served is the detention center at Guantanamo. Or Olive Garden.

I walked away, fought the urge to gag, and went back to the corn dogs. Someone else would serve the tapioca.

Leave a Reply

