Thursday Dinner: Honey-Lime Pork Tenderloin

2014-06-26 at 17-48-24

Many of you know that I have Pinterest boards where I post recipes, reviews and what I plan to cook. I was once described (by a friend) as the only heterosexual male that uses Pinterest regularly. I’ll be honest…it’s a nice little traffic driver for the blog and an easy way to remember things that I want to cook.

The problem is that my “want to” board is a little disorganized, a hodge podge of things I’ll never actually make, things I’ve already cooked but forgot to remove and, in the case of this recipe, duplicates. So, I’ll be spending some time soon on cleaning that all up.

In the meantime, there was the issue of dinner on Thursday night. I purchased a pork tenderloin with the intention of making this a day or two ago, but two evenings of rain foiled my plans.

2014-06-26 at 17-43-59

This was rather good and the combination of honey and lime penetrated the pork well. I think honey and pork mix well, usually in concert with mustard, garlic or something spicy. The lime was a nice diversion from the normal.

WHAT WORKED: The flavors were all balanced. I also subbed out chipotle in adobo sauce for Goya Sazon, simply because I thought it would mesh better both with the lime and The Wife’s palette.

WHAT DIDN’T: I let this marinate for a half-hour. I would let it go longer next time.

WHAT DID THE WIFE SAY: Not much. It was her last day of school and she was basking in the glow.

WILL IT MAKE ANOTHER APPEARANCE: Yes. It’s a rather easy flavor combination to construct and matches well with everything during the summer.

Honey-Lime Pork Tenderloin
Inspired by the original at The Way To His Heart

  • 1 lb pork tenderloin
  • 1 cup lime juice, fresh or bottled
  • grated zest from 1-2 limes
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 tbsp kosher salt
  • 1 packet of Goya Sazon (I used the kind with culantro and annatto)
  • Chopped cilantro for garnish

In a small bowl, whisk together the lime juice, lime zest, honey, and salt. Add the Sazon then whisk until it is completely dissolved and the marinade is a deep red.

2014-06-26 at 16-25-29

Place the pork tenderloin in a resealable plastic bag and pierce a few times with a fork. Pour the marinade in. Seal the bag halfway, pressing as much air out as possible, before finishing the seal. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes, and up to overnight.

2014-06-26 at 16-27-50

Preheat your grill to high. Reduce half of the burners to medium-low, and the remaining burners to medium-high. Place the pork on the cooler side of the grill. Cook, checking periodically, until the internal temperature of the pork reaches 145 degrees.

Transfer the tenderloin to a plate and let stand 5 to 10 minutes. Slice and serve.

5 thoughts on “Thursday Dinner: Honey-Lime Pork Tenderloin”

  1. I’m a Pinterest addict so let’s not talk about how disorganized my boards are. But my dinner (main dishes) board is my most cooked from. Love the honey and lime combination. Tried it in a cookie once and was in love. So I’m sure this tenderloin is amazing.

Leave a Reply

