Al Dente Rewind: Stovetop Smoked Beef Brisket

2014-06-14 16.35.01
This weekend marked The Kid’s 4th birthday party. We still do family-only gigs, with our neighbors and some friends’ children joining the fray, but assume that will end next year. If The Wife gets her way, we would tell people that we were Jehovah’s Witnesses just so we could get out of having kid’s birthday parties.

I smoked a 7 1/2-pound beef brisket using the below recipe. It was a beautiful hunk of meat with a 1-inch fat cap that I trimmed in half. I was happy with the effort, based on this recipe from two years ago.

2014-06-14 09.42.19


Something is wrong with my gas grill. Some of you will say that the problem is that I use gas and not charcoal. That’s fine, and to each their own. My problem is more of a fire/explosion hazard.

About two weeks ago, I got the propane tank refilled. When I reconnected it to the grill and turned the valve on, I heard the hiss of gas leaking. I could feel the gas seeping out around the connection. When I tested it the other night on my neighbor’s grill, it was fine, sooooooooooo, this means something is messed up with my grill. My best guess is a a shot o-ring. On first glance, Char-Broil says that I need to replace the hose and regulator — an $80 fix. We’ll see…

WHAT WORKED: Trimming the meat. The brisket was 7 1/2 pounds. I carved about an inch of fat off the top, leaving another half-inch behind. This was enough since we were only cooking this for a few hours, not the 10-12 hours you might go for on a standalone smoker.

WHAT DIDN’T: The heat. I like a little more red or pink in my meat, but Cameron’s recipe called for temperatures that were far too high to achieve medium. Still, at medium well, it was quite juicy and not at all tough. I adjusted the heat accordingly below.

WILL IT MAKE ANOTHER APPEARANCE: Very likely. I never did brisket before and I can tell you that I will do it again.

Stovetop Smoked Beef Brisket
By Jared Paventi

  • 2 tbsp. brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp. kosher salt
  • 4 tbsp. smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp. Liquid smoke
  • 2 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 2 tsp. chili powder
  • 2 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. black pepper
  • 7 lb. beef brisket (not corned beef brisket), trimmed of about 2/3 of its fat cap

Mix the first eight ingredients in a medium bowl. Line a baking sheet with plastic wrap and lay the brisket on top of it. Rub the spices into the meat, flip the brisket and rub the underside. Cover the brisket with additional plastic wrap and refrigerate at least four hours, but up to 12 hours.

Prepare your smoker (if you do not have a smoker, scroll about halfway down my recipe for ribs and check out my substitute.) by adding approximately 1/2 to 3/4 cup of hickory wood chips to the base of the pan (Stovetop smoking chips and regular smoking wood are two different things. Make sure you have the stovetop variety.). Add the brisket to the pan and cover. Set the pan on your burner at medium heat and smoke for two hours.

Preheat the oven to 250 degrees. Remove the pan from heat and transfer the brisket to a large sheet of aluminum foil. Wrap the brisket in foil, set on a baking sheet and roast for 90 minutes. Remove the brisket from the oven and let stand 30 minutes. Slice against the grain and serve with accumulated juices from the pan.

2 thoughts on “Al Dente Rewind: Stovetop Smoked Beef Brisket”

Leave a Reply

