Tuesday Dinner: Chicken Stuffed with Spinach and Feta

 

2014-04-29 at 17-18-15

I’ve been trying to make this entree for three weeks now. I got a nasty touch of the stomach bug and found myself out of commission during week one. Last week, an unexpected late work evening canceled this out. This week, dammit, we were going to eat this. As it was, I had thrown out two perfectly good batches of spinach that had gone bad from the previous weeks, and was on the verge of the feta cheese passing the point of expiration. So, it was dinner tonight.

Now, I must admit that I have some technique issues. Having never received any formal training in the kitchen, there are something I do not do well. I know that I need more work with knives to master things like evenly dicing and finely chopping without injuring myself. I also struggle with stuffing and rolling pieces of meat, like the chicken breasts in this recipe. So, rather than a uniform spiral, I ended up folding and securing with a toothpick. The taste was fine, but the aesthetic lacked. I know, first-world problems. My chicken wasn’t pretty. Wah wah wah.

I digress.
2014-04-29 at 16-52-38

WHAT WORKED: Letting the chicken cook a little longer than prescribed. When it comes to chicken, I lean towards caution.

WHAT DIDN’T: Me, as previously explained.

WHAT DID THE WIFE SAY: Nothing. She was all loaded with good stories from work today.

WILL IT MAKE ANOTHER APPEARANCE: It might. I think that a little squeeze of lemon might add a nice, crisp flavor here.

2014-04-29 at 16-43-45

Chicken Stuffed with Spinach and Feta
Adapted lightly from Amy Wisniewski’s original at CHOW

  • 2 tbsp. olive oil, divided
  • 1/2 medium red onion, small dice (JARED’S NOTE: My red onion was half-rotten so I just went with white here)
  • 3 cups spinach leaves, tough stems removed, washed thoroughly and dried (about 3 oz.)
  • Dash nutmeg
  • Kosher salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 (10 oz.) boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into four thin filets
  • 1/3 cup crumbled feta cheese (about 1 1/2 oz.)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Heat 1 tbsp. of oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. When it shimmers, add the onion and cook until soft, 8 or 9 minutes. Add spinach and toss to coat with oil. When it wilts, about 2 to 3 minutes, season with nutmeg, salt and pepper. Transfer the spinach to a bowl and cool.

Stir feta into the spinach. Lay chicken on a cutting board and add a soupspoonful of the mixture to the lower half of the breast. Fold the bottom end of the chicken over the spinach and roll into a cylinder. Secure with toothpicks or butcher’s string. Repeat with the remaining chicken breasts.

Heat the remaining oil in the skillet over medium-high. When the oil shimmers, add the chicken to the pan and cook 3 to 4 minutes each side to brown. Move the pan to the oven and roast 10 minutes, or until the interior of the chicken rolls is white.

Leave a Reply

