Tuesday Dinner: Pork Tenderloin Medallions with Mushroom-Shallot Sauce

2014-04-02 at 17-11-36

Sometimes I buy things for dinner and don’t cook them. For instance, I picked up a pork tenderloin about a week ago. I’m not 100 percent sure what I was going to do with it but I’m crafty and figured I would come up with something. A combination of things got in the way and I ended up not cooking the pork, which meant that the vacuum-packed pork sword remained in the fridge taking up some space. I think it also began to irritate The Wife. On Saturday, I asked The Wife what she wanted for dinner. She asked if I was going to make the pork sword. On Sunday, I asked the question again and received the same answer.

Finally, I stopped asking because I knew I was going to cook it but didn’t want to incur the silent wrath of The Wife, who doubles as our household C.F.O. and likely saw the pork sword as an investment of $5 that may go bad. I can appreciate that. So, I finally broke down and made it.2014-04-02 at 16-25-14

When I wasn’t busy forgetting items at the grocery store, I was picking up needless things like mushrooms. Like the pork sword, I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with them, but I knew they would be used. It turns out that destiny caused the collision of these two items in a large skillet on Tuesday evening.

2014-04-02 at 16-26-31

WHAT WORKED: Shallots and butter. Shallots make everything taste better. And so does butter.

WHAT DIDN’T: Coarse-ground dijon mustard. This would go much better with the standard, smooth dijon. I only had the whole grain version, which meant that my sauce was speckled and not as smooth.

WHAT DID THE WIFE SAY: Nothing. The Wife had The Mother Of All Stories from work to share with me. Took a sold half-hour to get through. Dinner ended up being a distraction from the story.

WILL IT MAKE ANOTHER APPEARANCE: Yes, though with a different mustard.

2014-04-02 at 16-24-50

Pork Tenderloin Medallions with Mushroom-Shallot Sauce
By Jared Paventi

  • 1 tsp. butter
  • 1 to 1 1/4 lb. pork tenderloin, cut into 1-inch slices and visible fat trimmed
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 medium shallots, chopped
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 10 oz. sliced cremini mushrooms
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard

2014-04-02 at 16-18-56

Heat the butter over medium-low heat until it melts. Add pork to the pan, season with salt and pepper, and raise heat to medium. Saute for 5 to 7 minutes, or until the pork develops a nice browning. Turn the pork and cook 5 minutes. Transfer to a plate and keep warm on the stovetop.

2014-04-02 at 16-40-29

Add the shallots to the fat in the pan and cook until soft, 3 to 4 minutes. Add mushrooms to the pan and sweat, 5 to 7 minutes. Season with salt and pepper, stirring mushrooms to distribute. Add the chicken stock and deglaze the pan, scraping up any brown bits on the bottom of the pan. Add the mustard and bring liquid to a boil. Return the pork to the pan and lower the heat. Saute 3 to 4 minutes. Serve hot.

2014-04-02 at 16-54-57

Leave a Reply

