Al Dente Frozen: Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

2014-03-02 at 14-33-34

The Kid and I were making good time at Wegmans on Sunday when I was getting near frozen foods. I knew we were low on ice cream, but couldn’t figure out what I wanted next. What I really wanted was Byrne Dairy ice cream, a kick that I have been on for about three weeks now. As I was about to make the turn down the first frozen foods aisle, it occurred to me that I had an ice cream maker at home that has been dormant for a few weeks. I backtracked, grabbing a pint of heavy cream and mini chocolate chips. I didn’t know what flavor was on tap, but chocolate chips make everything better.

I was prowling around the pantry looking for what we had on hand — tuna, chicken broth, cocoa powder, black beans — and saw the answer: peanut butter. You really can’t go wrong there. Peanut butter cups and Butterfingers make for nice mix-ins, but mixing the peanut butter made for a thick but smooth ice cream.

And, like I said before, chocolate chips make everything better.

2014-03-02 at 14-02-29

 

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip Ice Cream
By Jared Paventi

  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup milk (NOTE: I used 1%.)
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (NOTE: Mini chips work best, but full-size are fine.)

2014-03-02 at 13-56-01

Add peanut butter and sugar to a deep mixing bowl. Using an electric hand mixer on the lowest possible speed, mix until the sugar has been absorbed by the peanut butter. Turn the mixer off, add the milk and turn the mixer back on. Mix until well combined and you have what looks like peanut butter soup. Turn off the mixer, add the cream and vanilla, and mix for 5 to 6 seconds.

2014-03-02 at 13-56-48

Pour the base to the bowl of an ice cream maker and mix for 20 to 25 minutes, or until thick. At the 15-minute mark, gradually add the chocolate chips so they distribute throughout the mix.

2014-03-02 at 14-21-56

Transfer the ice cream to a freezer-safe container and freeze up to 4 hours before eating.

One thought on “Al Dente Frozen: Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip Ice Cream”

Leave a Reply

