Meatless Monday: Artichoke Enchiladas

2014-01-27 at 18-08-07

Every so often (more often that I’d like, to be honest) I walk through my local Wegmans and think, “Hmm, I need quinoa (or something else) for dinner this week. Do I have it? Yeah, I know I have quinoa (or something else).”

Except that the reason I asked the question is that my subconscious is telling me that I don’t, in fact, have that ingredient. Do I listen?

No.

2014-01-27 at 17-26-55

I stood in front of the bulk quinoa dispenser on Sunday morning, looking quizzically at the contents and deciding whether I needed to grab some. Convinced that I had at least a cup in a bag at home, I walked away with The Kid and my cart. And, I was wrong.

Unfortunately, the quinoa was the main protein source for this meal. I whiffed. Hard. I figured that I could sneak in some black beans and switch to bean enchiladas. Yeah. None of those either.

Sigh.

Luckily, I had some basamti rice. That did the trick, but it brought more carbs than anything. Listen, it turned out fine with the rice (I used one cup of rice and 1 1/4 cups of water cooked per the package’s directions) but I know this would have been better with the damn quinoa.

Next time, people. Next time.

(I’m going to skip the usual four questions that come along with my recipes, as I think I addressed three of the four — what worked, what didn’t and will it make another appearance. As for what The Wife said, she approved.)

2014-01-27 at 17-36-03

Artichoke Enchiladas
From Feast: Generous Vegetarian Meals for Any Eater and Every Appetite by Sarah Copeland via Serious Eats

Quinoa

  • 1 1/4 cups (300 ml) water
  • 3/4 cup (145 g) quinoa
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt

Enchiladas

  • 2 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for the baking dish
  • 1 red onion
  • 1 1/2 lbs. (680 g) tomatillos, husked
  • 2 serrano chiles, seeded for a milder sauce (I skipped the serranos for the sake of my delicate
  • 1/2 cup (120 ml) vegetable stock or water
  • Sea salt
  • 1 tsp. unbleached raw sugar
  • 3/4 cup (130 g) fresh, frozen, or unmarinated jarred artichoke hearts*
  • 10 fresh small corn tortillas
  • 2 1/2 cups (290 g) grated Monterey Jack cheese
  • Handful fresh cilantro leaves, plus more for topping
  • 1 cup (115 g) Cotija, queso añejo, queso fresco, or feta cheese, crumbled (I used queso fresco cut into small pieces)
  • Cayenne pepper for sprinkling
  • 1 lime, cut into wedges

To make the quinoa: Bring the water, quinoa, and salt to boil in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Reduce to medium heat, cover, and simmer about 25 minutes. Set aside. (You can prepare the quinoa up to 2 days in advance; just be sure to cool completely and store in an airtight container.)

To make the enchiladas: Lightly brush a 9-by-13-inch (23-by-33-cm) baking dish or casserole with olive oil. Preheat the broiler to high.

Halve the onion. Slice one half into thin rings and cut the other half into wedges. Arrange the onion wedges, tomatillos, and serranos on a baking sheet and broil until the tomatillos are soft and browned, 15 to 20 minutes, turning with tongs halfway through cooking. Transfer the onion, tomatillos, and serranos with any of their liquid to a blender or food processor, add the stock, and purée until smooth, about 3 minutes. Add 1/2 teaspoon salt and the sugar and pulse a few times to combine.

2014-01-27 at 17-30-39

2014-01-27 at 17-56-22

Meanwhile, toss the artichokes with the 2 tablespoons olive oil in a bowl and season lightly with salt.

Steam or warm the tortillas in the microwave (wrap a stack in barely damp paper towels and microwave for 20 to 30 second, then wrap in a kitchen towel to keep warm); keep them wrapped. Toss the artichokes and quinoa with two-thirds of the Monterey Jack in a bowl. Place a tortilla on the work surface. Spoon 2 to 3 tablespoons of the artichoke mixture down the middle of the tortilla, add some cilantro leaves, and roll up the tortilla, leaving the ends open. Tuck the enchilada, seam-side down, into the prepared baking dish. Repeat with the remaining tortillas and artichoke filling, lining up the enchiladas side by side in the baking dish. Broil until the tortillas are crisp and golden around the edges, 3 to 4 minutes.

2014-01-27 at 17-56-59

2014-01-27 at 17-52-03

Pour most of the tomatillo sauce over and around the sides of the enchiladas and sprinkle the remaining Monterey Jack on top. Broil until the cheese is golden brown, 1 to 2 minutes more. Remove from the oven and top with the sliced onion, Cotija, and remaining cilantro. (Note from Jared: I tossed the enchiladas back under the broiler for an extra minute or two to melt the cheese on top.)

2014-01-27 at 18-04-43

Divide the enchiladas among plates and sprinkle them lightly with cayenne. Serve warm with lime wedges.

*: The beauty of the artichoke filling is that it will truly work with whatever artichokes you can find, from fresh to frozen or even canned. If all you can find is marinated artichokes, drain your artichokes and pat dry, and skip the step of seasoning the artichokes before filling your enchiladas.

2 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Artichoke Enchiladas”

  1. Tomatillos and cilantro are a fan favorite here. I can do no wrong when I cook with them, as far as The Wife is concerned. Good luck with it. Make sure to do a better job of crumbling the cheese than I did.

Leave a Reply

