Meatless Monday: Kale and Roasted Red Pepper Frittata

2014-01-20 at 18-14-24 (1)

 

So, I had a problem here. Not something that would qualify for a “FAIL” tag, but significant enough that it interrupted my enjoying an otherwise fine meal.

There was a LOT of liquid.

I blanched the kale, drained the peppers, measured the milk…yeah, still a ton of water in the pan. And it wasn’t exclusive to the dinnertime product. I poured the liquid off and attempted to take the leftovers to work. Apparently, the resealable container didn’t seal or the seal doesn’t seal. By the time I got to work my lunch bag was  full of frittata water. Disgusting.

So, I’m not sure what the deal is. My best guess is that after blanching the kale that you need to not only wring the hell out of it, but saute it over high heat to draw out any remaining liquid. I scaled the recipe down by half, but can’t imagine that had anything to do with it.

2014-01-20 at 18-11-09 (1)

WHAT WORKED: The flavor combination of kale and roasted red pepper is not one I would have mixed on my own, but was surprisingly good.

WHAT DIDN’T: I think we covered that.

WHAT DID THE WIFE SAY: “Why is this so liquidy?” See. It wasn’t just me.

WILL IT MAKE ANOTHER APPEARANCE: I don’t know, but given the results I doubt it.

Kale and Roasted Red Pepper Frittata
From CHOW

  • 12 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup blanched and coarsely chopped kale (could also use chard, baby Asian greens, or arugula)
  • 1/2 cup thinly sliced roasted red peppers (could also use steamed zucchini or yellow squash, or tomatoes)
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar or pepper jack cheese
  • Cooking oil or unsalted butter

Combine the eggs and milk in a large bowl and whisk until smooth. Stir in the vegetables and half of the cheese.

Heat oil or butter over medium heat in a large nonstick, ovenproof frying pan. When the oil shimmers or the butter stops foaming, add the egg mixture to the pan, reduce the heat to medium low, and cover. Allow to cook, making sure there is no visible bubbling, until set. Sprinkle the remaining cheese on top and cook until melted or, if desired, place the skillet under the broiler for a minute or two to brown the top.

Use a knife to loosen the sides of the frittata, turn onto a cutting board, and slice. Serve hot, or chill and serve cold.

Leave a Reply

