Grocery List: December 29, 2013

photo(NOTE: I’m all out of grocery list paper. I finally exhausted the last of the Raven Lunatic pad that my friend Shawn gave to me. If you know of anywhere to find, witty or vulgar notepads, let me know.)

Santa was good to me this year, as he tends to be. This year brought pots and pans.

Yes, I’m very excited about pots and pans.

I acquired a haul of Calphalon Unison sear and slide pans. This is Calphalon’s high-end non-stick pans endorsed by celebrity chef Michael Symon. The pans cook food evenly and release it without effort. It went right to work on Christmas morning in preparing the side dishes for dinner. More on the main course and sides later this week. In all, I received:

  • An 8 qt. covered stockpot
  • 2 qt. and 4 qt. covered saucepans
  • 8- and 10-inch skillets
  • A 6 qt. covered Dutch oven

The skillets were part of a holiday time special that I saw at the big names in kitchen gear (Williams-Sonoma, Macy’s, and Crate & Barrel, where The Wife shopped). The rest were acquired at a neat little gem in Waterloo, N.Y. Chef’s Outlet is actually owned by Calphalon, though doesn’t carry the brand’s flag on its store like its other shops. The acquisition was part-choice, part-need. After 11 1/2 glorious years of wedded bliss, our pans are beginning to fall apart. Teflon is scraping from the bottom of our Farberware Millenium pans, exposing metal bases. Chipped Teflon is bad enough, but add in rust and you have a not so great meal.

I had been acquiring Calphalon One pans for a while, but those have since been discontinued. Those were the hard-anodized metal line. They had a commercial feel. The One’s were made from heavyweight metal and damn near indestructible. Except that, like any other metal surface, they bent. I have this awesome 12-inch Calphalon One covered skillet that is convex. After years of stacking pans and lifting the entire stack out of a cabinet to get the one I wanted, it bowed. It’s nothing that a rubber mallet can’t remedy, but I am afraid of making the cooking surface even more uneven than it is.

First-world problems, I know.

The Kid’s Christmas haul was ridiculous, so much so that The Wife and I will not need to buy her clothes during 2014, and we only bought her two clothing items (a Nike tee and an Under Armour track suit). Our house is vomiting Minnie Mouse right now, which is okay because she’s a three-year-old girl and could be clamoring for an iPad and American Girl dolls instead.

So, as we wrap up year three of this little experiment (first post: January 8, 2011), I want to say thanks for stopping by and I can’t wait to see what 2014 has in store.

Leave a Reply

