Al Dente On The Side: Old Bay Roasted Sweet Potatoes

2013-11-28 at 14-08-04

I make sweet potatoes for every holiday that I host. And, every time, I’m the only one who eats them. Invariably The Wife or The Father will have a couple as a show of support for the hard work that went into the meal, but they are largely panned by the rest of the gathering at these meals.

This year, I decided that I was going to make a small sweet potato dish for me, and if anyone wanted some, they could join in. Ordinarily, I like my roasted potatoes to be burnt to an everloving crisp, but my single-oven setup meant that the turkey took priority. And the bird’s low and slow cooking method meant the sweets were going to cook at, oh, 175 degrees below the recipe’s recommendation. I threw them in for over an hour, but they were still a little soft.

But, they were good. Damn good.

I think that covering seafood in Old Bay is silly and takes away from the flavor of the fish. But, a heavy dusting of the stuff on potatoes is a very different flavor that complements the sweetness of the veggie.

2013-11-28 at 11-16-54

Old Bay Roasted Sweet Potatoes
2013-11-28 at 10-21-32Adapted from MarthaStewart.com

  • 1 1/2 to 2 lbs. sweet potatoes, scrubbed and cut into 1-inch rounds
  • 1 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Old Bay seasoning

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. On a rimmed baking sheet, toss sweet potatoes extra-virgin olive oil and Old Bay seasoning. Bake until potatoes are deep golden brown on all sides, about 30 minutes, flipping halfway through.

Leave a Reply

