Grocery List: November 17, 2013

photo 3To say that I’m sore would be an understatement. To say that I’m in pain would be pushing it. My life right now is a persistent ache combined with muscle stiffness. I also have this odd redness all over my chest from the airbag deployment, likely the result of a chemical burn. That said, I’m happy to be here right now and not in a hospital bed.

I don’t think that Thursday’s car accident would have been fatal under most conditions, though stranger things have happened. I am okay, aside from the above stuff, and the other person walked away. The details are simple: she had a stop sign, I did not, she pulled into the intersection, I hit her at 35 MPH, and both of our cars have significant damage. I am awaiting a ruling from the insurers as to whether my vehicle will be repaired or replaced, resulting in a car buying process that delights me about as much as the thought of getting into another car accident.

I’ve told people it’s just a car and this is why they make insurance. That is true. But, I liked my Honda Pilot. It went in for one repair (faulty emergency brake line) in three years and 46,000 miles. I had a nice divot warn into the driver’s seat. My radio was programmed exactly the way I wanted. It had the requisite number of stickers. Everything was fine. And now it isn’t. I have a rental in my driveway; a Nissan Frontier that smells like wet dog. Yeah. No amount of Febreeze or pine tree air fresheners can fix that.

But then again, like I said, I’m just happy to be here.

photo 1

photo 2

4 thoughts on “Grocery List: November 17, 2013”

  1. I am glad to hear that you are only a little worse for wear. The cars look smushed, her vehicle worse than Pilot. Maybe that means your trusty Honda can be repaired. About that smell on the rental … worth trying to exchange it for another? Have as good a Sunday as possible, Jared.

Leave a Reply

