Thinking…

Earlier today, I offered a lengthy and flammable post about an interaction I had on Twitter this week. For reasons I’m not going to get into, I removed it. I did not retract it, or “detract” it as someone encouraged me to do. I stand by what I said about this gasbag and her motives as a self-promoting huckster. But, this is not the place for it. This is a blog about eating. This is a blog about me. It’s not about a person whom I compared to Sarah Palin (and not in a good way).

(NOTE: I have returned a slightly edited version of that post. I think that the response should be there, for better or worse. I did filter some of the, um, color from the text. I still plan on following what I plan to do below.)

So, after some thinking, I’ve decided to do a couple of things:

1) I’m abandoning the Gluten Schmuten category and future stories about our family’s journey with Celiac disease. The Celiac Story is there if you want to read it, though I’m considering taking it down. What this bulldozer in sheep’s clothing helped me to realize is that my daughter (a.k.a. The Kid) did not consent to being part of this experiment known as my blog. She shouldn’t grow up knowing that her business has been plastered across this blog for all to see. I’m not going to hang her out there for drive-by opinionators to discuss. And, since I’m not close to being an expert on this topic, or a faux expert like the aforementioned righteously indignant wench, I’m pulling away from the gluten free world altogether.

2) I want to get back to what this blog is supposed to be: a platform to discuss eating. Not food or cooking, though these are related, but the visceral, sensory heightening experience of eating. There will be more photos of food. There will be more new foods discovered. There will be more eating and less bloviating. There will be more focus on the food and why I started writing this blog in the first place.

2 thoughts on “Thinking…”

  1. By the way, it is your blog, not some food nazi bitch’s. So keep writing what you want to write and F the people who don’t like it.

Leave a Reply

