Wednesday Dinner: Potato, Chorizo and Spinach Tacos

IMG_5563

I am, for all intents and purposes, sick.

I have been sick, unofficially, since September 9 or 10. The basic thrust of this cold is a cough that originates in my chest. I considered that I had bronchitis or pneumonia, however I have not achieved a fever and the always accurate spit test (you know, when your doctor asks about your sputum) has shown no trace of color.

While the cough is better and my congestion is not so bad, I’ve developed a raging sinus headache/pressure combo that has rendered my tastebuds null and void.

IMG_5555Therefore, I have no idea how tonight’s dinner tasted. I’m solely reliant on The Wife for her opinion on flavor.

What I can tell you is that this is a very easy mid-week meal, assuming you can come by fresh chorizo. As luck would have it, Nichols Supermarket in Liverpool makes its own. It looked good though, as you might guess, I have no idea how it tastes.

Sigh.

By the way, The Wife’s statement on dinner? “This is good!”

That’s it.

I hate being sick.

WHAT WORKED: Nichols Supermarket, which means I get to support a local business and butcher and chorizo at the same time.

WHAT DIDN’T WORK: My broken tastebuds.

WHAT DID THE WIFE SAY: See above.

WILL IT MAKE ANOTHER APPEARANCE: Certainly. I must know how it tastes.

IMG_5553Potato, Chorizo and Spinach Tacos
By Nick Kindelsperger for Serious Eats

  • 1/2 pound small red potatoes, cut into 1/2-inch cubes (about 2 cups)
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil, divided
  • Kosher salt
  • 1/2 large white onion, chopped (about 3/4 cup)
  • 8 ounces fresh Mexican chorizo
  • 5 ounces fresh spinach, rinsed and finely chopped
  • 12 corn tortillas, warmed
  • 2 ounces queso fresco or feta cheese, crumbled
  • Handful fresh cilantro, stems removed, leaves chopped
  • 2 limes, quartered

Toss cubed potatoes in a medium-sized and microwave-safe bowl with 1 tablespoon canola oil and a pinch of salt. Cover bowl with plastic wrap and transfer to the microwave. Cook on high for 3 minutes, and then carefully shake the contents of the bowl. Place back in the microwave and cook until potatoes are tender, about 2 minutes longer. Set aside.

IMG_5551

Meanwhile, heat remaining tablespoon of canola oil in a large cast-iron skillet over medium heat. Add onion and cook until soft but not browned, about 3 minutes. Add chorizo and cook, stirring often with a wooden spoon, until the chorizo just starts to brown, 3 to 5 minutes.

IMG_5558

Stir in potatoes and cook until lightly browned, about 3 minutes. Add a handful of spinach and stir occasionally until the leaves wilt enough for you to add more. Continue process until all of the spinach has been added. Continue cooking until the spinach cooks down to something resembling a sauce, about 3 minutes. Taste and season with additional salt if needed.

IMG_5561

Serve with warm tortillas, quest fresco, cilantro, and lime wedges.

Leave a Reply

