Tuesday Dinner: Pasta with Prosciutto and Peas

It feels like I haven’t cooked in a while. We have still been eating, but I’ve been leaning on a lot of soups and sauces from the freezer. It’s nice to have those things to fall back on, but I haven’t really hit the kitchen since early September.

On Saturday, we ventured westward to a birthday party in Rochester. We left enough time for a Trader Joe’s run and I made sure to bring a cooler and ice pack, just in case. I’m glad I did. We’ve never tried Trader Joe’s fresh pasta before, so I thought that I would see how it holds up. At between $1.99 and $2.39 per package, it is certainly priced right. I grabbed Perlines with Prosciutto and a sundried tomato-goat cheese ravioli.

For Tuesday’s dinner, I thought we’d give the Perlines a try. I bought a pint of heavy cream last week in order to make a garlic cream sauce for something else, but I never got there. It was still intact and made a nice base for the sauce I came up with on the fly.

Well, maybe not on the fly. I was grocery shopping on Monday night and had this basic plan in mind. Thinking that I could incorporate some other items in the sauce, I opted for Wegmans‘ diced prosciutto and a bag of shelled peas. Crimini mushrooms would taste good in this too.

WHAT WORKED: Prosciutto. It’s one of the eternal answers to everything. What’s the best meat on the planet? Prosciutto. What would you want for your last meal? Prosciutto. What is the meaning of life? Prosciutto.

WHAT DIDN’T: I would say that everything went together well.

WHAT DID THE WIFE SAY: “This is really good. Salty too. I like it.”

WILL IT MAKE ANOTHER APPEARANCE: Yes and probably with mushrooms.

Pasta with Prosciutto and Peas
By Jared Paventi

  • 4 garlic cloves, peeled and chopped
  • <1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 3 tbsp. butter
  • 1 1/4 cup heavy cream at room temperature
  • 4 oz. prosciutto, diced
  • 1/4 cup shelled peas (fresh preferred)
  • 4 oz. Parmagiano-Reggiano cheese, shredded
  • 8 to 10 oz. good quality fresh pasta (I went with a stuffed pasta. Ravioli or tortellini would work here.)

Bring a large saucepan of water to a boil and cook pasta to the manufacturer’s directions.

In the meantime, heat garlic and olive oil in a medium saute pan over medium heat. When it begins to brown, add the butter and melt.

Reduce heat to medium-low and gently add the cream. Stir frequently to prevent scorching. Cook three minutes then stir in the shredded cheese. Cook three minutes to thicken. Add meat and peas. Stir to prevent sticking or scorching of the sauce.

Drain pasta and toss with sauce.

Leave a Reply

