Grocery List: September 8, 2013

photo

Note the date.

The Hallmark Channel, home to reruns of The Golden Girls and movies about jilted women finding new love, just ran an ad for its Countdown to Christmas beginning on November 2. New movies. Old favorites. Bing Crosby singing “It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas.”

On September 8. Sonsabitches. I may actually force myself to watch NFL pregame.

(Side note: I am indifferent to football. I’ll watch it, but not with any particular fervor. I tend to come in towards the end of the season around the playoffs. I realize this makes me a bandwagoner, but a childhood as a Bills fan has spoiled my taste for the sport. On top of this is the growing concern about concussions and head trauma as linked to dementia. And since I work for the Alzheimer’s Association, I tend to eschew things that promote the onset of the disease I’m working to eliminate. I was delighted to see Notre Dame lose, though it was to a team with an equally insufferable fan base. Digressing…)

Anyhow, this week begins the annual slog where my weekends disappear due to Walk To End Alzheimer’s events in Central New York. The grocery list post will go on hiatus until the end of the month and the frequency of these posts may wane as well. My Saturdays and Sundays are typically reduced to getting up early, running financial reports, driving to/setting up/working/tearing down/driving from the event, doing the post-event publicity and returning home. Our Saturday Walks start around 9, so my mornings will start around 4 a.m. On Sunday, I’ll make it in around 7 or 8 so we can be on site for our 1 p.m. Walks in time.

If you haven’t already, you should consider making a donation to my Walk efforts or joining an event near you. I would appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

