Pickling Without Canning: Garlic Dill Pickles

IMG_4663Dill pickles have been standard summertime venture ever since I picked up my first copy of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que: An American Roadhouse. I made my first batch while still living with my father, who hated the dill-vinegar smell that would hang in the house for the day or two following.

IMG_4653The project moved to my own dwelling(s), where it is something I put together once or so each year. Frankly, I can’t stand the steamed vinegar that hangs in the air either. However, the payoff is worth it.

I use a modified version of Dinosaur pickle recipe. I don’t know how to do it better than them, but I know that my primary audience (The Wife) does not like jalepeños with her pickles. Sooooooooooo, I try to balance it off with the requisite amount of garlic.

My past container of choice has been a 2-quart Rubbermaid container wrapped twice in plastic. This time around, I’m using a 2.5L sealed lockjar.

2013-08-31 at 11-56-08Garlic Dill Pickles
Adapted from Dinosaur Bar-B-Que: An American Roadhouse

  • 2-3 lbs. pickling cucumbers, sliced into 1/2-inch rounds
  • 1/3 cup chopped garlic
  • 2/3 cup chopped fresh dill
  • 4 cups white vinegar
  • 2 cups water
  • 6 tbsp. pickling/canning salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tbsp. mustard seeds
  • 3 tbsp. dill seed
  • 3 tbsp. coriander seed
  • 2 bay leaves, crushed by hand
  • 1 tsp. black pepper

IMG_4641Wash your container in hot, sudsy water and let air dry.

Add cucumbers, garlic and dill to your container.

IMG_4658Combine the vinegar and water in a stockpot or large saucepan and bring to a boil. Add the remaining ingredients to the pot and boil 2 to 3 minutes. Remove from heat.

Carefully ladle the brine into the container until the liquid reaches the neck of the jar. Let stand until the jar reaches room temperature, then close and lock the lid (I will tip the jar over the sink to make sure it is sealed.).

Refrigerate at least one week.

Leave a Reply

