Grocery List: September 1, 2013

I can't find the grocery list, so here is a picture of The Kid and I on the couch.
I can’t find the grocery list, so here is a picture of The Kid and I on the couch.

Allow me to work blue for a second.

Fuck September.

In college, I disliked April because it was the busiest month of my year. September has since ascended to the top spot. The Labor Day weekend tease gives birth to an immediate gear shift to school and my walkathon season (a period of time where I work 20 consecutive days without a break, and a total of 26 out of 28 days). It’s the month where The Wife and I are at our most miserable, often times annoying each other by just being in the same room.

Suffice it to say, I was not ready for September 1 to hit the calendar today, especially since the weather (80 and sunny) is teasing you into believing that it is still summer out. I would just assume have it drop into the 50s and begin the seven-month slog of cold Northeast temperatures.

But enough of my insipid whining.

We’ll end summer much in the same way we started it with clams provençal for dinner. I’m also clearing out some of the meat from the freezer over the next few days. And, I’m going to share pickling recipes that do not require canning and burning your hands on hot Mason jars. So, it should be a busy week.

That said, fuck September.

Leave a Reply

