Killing Them Softly: Spinach Mold

cookbooks

EDITOR’S NOTE: My recent discovery of our families’ collection of 1970s era church cookbooks has been nothing short of a conversation piece around Al Dente HQ. The kind-hearted and well-intentioned women behind these recipes set cooking back years, all the while trying to kill their families with butter, shortening and lard. Not wanting to hog the glory and splendor for myself, it is my pleasure to share these classic culinary gems with you. These are the original recipes with very little editing. If you have one of these around your house or find one at your parent’s home, please contact me. I would love to get my hands on it.

RECIPE: Spinach Mold
AUTHOR: Patricia Venturini
COOKBOOK: Cecilian Style, St. Cecelia’s Roman Catholic Church
APPROXIMATE YEAR: 1975

WHY DID I CHOOSE THIS? Now, wait a minute. This is wrong.

I understand fruit mixed in with Jello. I don’t like it, but I understand it. I get the crab mold. It’s supposed to imitate classic French cuisine, which uses aspic. It disgusts me, but I understand.

This one…this one goes beyond comprehension. This appears to be the love child of a spinach salad and lemon Jello, and the end result has to look like what happened at the “When An Elephant Makes Love to a Pig” episode of South Park (a classic episode from the first season…highly recommend it). A genetically engineered mess.

Spinach Mold

  • 1 package of lemon Jello
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 1/2 cup cold water
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • pepper
  • 1 cup chopped raw spinach, well drained
  • 3/4 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/3 cup chopped celery
  • 1 tbsp. chopped onion

Prepare the Jello using the water. Stir until dissolved. Add the mayo, salt and pepper and blend with a whisk. Chill until firm on the edge and soft in the center.

Fold in spinach, cottage cheese, celery, and onion. Pour into mold and chill until firm.

Leave a Reply

