Meatless Tuesday: Roasted Tomato Pasta + Chickpeas

IMG_4550

The dill is dead.

No, I haven’t been playing Abbey Road backwards. The dill really is dead. This is a surprise to me as usually my cilantro goes to pot very early and the dill fights for garden domination with the thyme. This year, the cilantro has gone to for, the thyme is explosive and the dill is dead.

This fact didn’t occur to me until I was ready to cut herbs tonight before dinner. As previously mentioned, I had already forgotten to roast the tomatoes for tonight’s dinner; a feat which I completed on Monday night. Instead of dill, I went with thyme. Yes, it’s a completely different flavor than dill, but it was a safe choice as it complemented every other ingredient in the recipe nicely.

IMG_4535

WHAT WORKED: The tomato roasting filled the house with this awesome smell on Monday night. And they just taste damn good. Oh, and I poached the kale, which I noted in my adaptation.

WHAT DIDN’T: Me. As usual, I failed in all facets of ingredient procurement.

IMG_4544WHAT DID THE WIFE SAY: “I liked dinner. I think that it had a rich taste to it, but next time I would like you to clean the stalks off the kale.” She thinks I’m going to call her “bitchy” for saying this. Nooooo. The Wife is rarely bitchy, and usually only around the first day of school and exam time. Damn teachers.

WILL IT MAKE ANOTHER APPEARANCE: Yes. And I might even have dill on hand. But if she wants the kale trimmed, she can do it herself.

IMG_4552

Roasted Tomato Pasta, Chickpeas and Dill
Adapted from Bird and Cleaver

  • 3 lbs. garden fresh tomatoes
  • 1 cup dill, finely chopped (JARED’S NOTE: I used thyme, because I’m an idiot.)
  • 1 cup kale, chopped
  • 15 oz. cooked chickpeas
  • 2 tbsp. parmesan cheese, grated
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • olive oil
  • 1 lb. spaghetti (JARED’S NOTE: I used fusilli because, well, see above)
  • salt and pepper to taste

IMG_4515 IMG_4517IMG_4536

Preheat oven to 250 degrees. Halve tomatoes and place on a cookie sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with kosher salt. Roast for three hours. Remove from oven and let cool to touch. Remove tomato skins and discard. Place in bowl and crush with hands. Season to taste. Set aside. (JARED’S NOTE: You can do this the day before. Cover the tomatoes and refrigerate. Let stand and reach room temperature before preparing the rest of the ingredients.)

IMG_4547In a small bowl, combine garlic, dill, parmesan and olive oil. Mix to combine. Set aside.

Cook pasta. Meanwhile, heat 1 tbsp. of olive oil in a saute pan over medium-high heat. Once hot, add chickpeas, and cook until browned and crispy, about 5 minutes. Season with salt to taste and set aside.

IMG_4546In the same saute pan over medium-high heat, add 1 tbsp. of olive oil. When it shimmers, add the kale and toss to coat. Add one ladleful of boiling pasta water to the pan. When the liquid evaporates and the kale wilts sufficiently, use a slotted spoon and transfer to a serving bowl.

After pasta is drained, toss with kale, roasted tomatoes, dill mixture and chickpeas. Season to taste and serve with more parmesan.

2 thoughts on “Meatless Tuesday: Roasted Tomato Pasta + Chickpeas”

  1. I think Wegmans sells kale that has been chopped and trimmed, no? Not as great as using fresh farmer’s market kale but convenient.
    Also, the recipe says to use “cooked chick peas” – ?? I see you cook them in the instructions, is that all you mean? Or do you cook them and then cook them again?
    Thanks – this looks like a great idea for vegetarian night!

  2. I took the recipe direct from the author. I figured cooked chickpeas meant reconstituted dried beans, so I used canned. As for kale, yes Wegs does have it chopped. I was working through some farmfresh I had recently picked up.

Leave a Reply

