Killing Them Softly: Quick One Dish Shrimp Tae Dish

cookbooks

EDITOR’S NOTE: My recent discovery of our families’ collection of 1970s era church cookbooks has been nothing short of a conversation piece around Al Dente HQ. The kind-hearted and well-intentioned women behind these recipes set cooking back years, all the while trying to kill their families with butter, shortening and lard. Not wanting to hog the glory and splendor for myself, it is my pleasure to share these classic culinary gems with you. These are the original recipes with very little editing. If you have one of these around your house or find one at your parent’s home, please contact me. I would love to get my hands on it.

RECIPE: Quick One Dish Shrimp Tae Dish
AUTHOR: Janice Todeschini
COOKBOOK: La Cucina Alpina, Solvay Tyrol Club Auxiliary
APPROXIMATE YEAR: 1971-72

WHY DID I CHOOSE THIS? I’m not sure what to make of this one. It’s…I don’t know what shrimp tae is. I’m guessing it’s supposed to be shrimp thai, since there are peanuts (in the form of peanut butter) and you serve it over pasta. I’m just confused.

It makes me think of having dinner at The In-Laws house when they were still my girlfriend’s parents. Every so often, The Mother-In-Law would bust out her Sunbeam electric wok and make something called Chinese chicken. It was diced chicken breasts, red bell pepper, onions, soy sauce in a thickened broth served over rice. There was little Chinese about it.

And after a lot of Googling, I’m still not sure what the hell this is supposed to be.

Oh, and as an aside, I like that the word “dish” appears multiple times here.

Quick One Dish Shrimp Tae Dish

  • 1 tbsp. chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tsp. ground fresh ginger
  • 3 tbsp. low sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp. crunchy peanut butter
  • 1 tsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. rice vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp. hot sauce
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 tsp. dark sesame oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 chopped red bell pepper
  • 1 lb. pasta, any shape
  • shrimp (no measure given)

Mix the first nine ingredients together. Saute onion and bell pepper. Add in shrimp and then sauce and heat to serve. Cook pasta and pour mixture over.

Leave a Reply

