Killing Them Softly: City Chicken

cookbooks

EDITOR’S NOTE: My recent discovery of our families’ collection of 1970s era church cookbooks has been nothing short of a conversation piece around Al Dente HQ. The kind-hearted and well-intentioned women behind these recipes set cooking back years, all the while trying to kill their families with butter, shortening and lard. Not wanting to hog the glory and splendor for myself, it is my pleasure to share these classic culinary gems with you. These are the original recipes with very little editing. If you have one of these around your house or find one at your parent’s home, please contact me. I would love to get my hands on it.

RECIPE: City Chicken
AUTHOR: Marie Felice
COOKBOOK: Our Lady of Pompeii’s Society of St. Therese Cookbook
APPROXIMATE YEAR: 1973

WHY DID I CHOOSE THIS? Because I couldn’t help myself. Read the title. Read the ingredients. You tell me why I picked it.

City Chicken

  • 1 lb. cubed pork
  • 1 lb. cubed veal

Unlisted ingredients: breadcrumbs, flour, egg, salt, pepper, vegetable shortening

Alternate cubed meat on six-inch skewers. Dip in egg, salt and pepper, roll in breadcrumbs, roll in flour. Brown on all sides in vegetable shortening. Put in roaster pan and pour small amount of drippings from fryer into roaster pan. Bake one hour at 350 degrees. Serve on skewers.

Note from Jared: WHERE’S THE FKG CHICKEN?!

Leave a Reply

