Killing Them Softly: Punch

cookbooks

EDITOR’S NOTE: My recent discovery of our families’ collection of 1970s era church cookbooks has been nothing short of a conversation piece around Al Dente HQ. The kind-hearted and well-intentioned women behind these recipes set cooking back years, all the while trying to kill their families with butter, shortening and lard. Not wanting to hog the glory and splendor for myself, it is my pleasure to share these classic culinary gems with you. These are the original recipes with very little editing. If you have one of these around your house or find one at your parent’s home, please contact me. I would love to get my hands on it.

RECIPE: Punch
AUTHOR: Girl Scout Troop #70
COOKBOOK: Cecilian Style, the St. Cecelia’s Roman Catholic Church Cookbook
APPROXIMATE YEAR: 1975

WHY DID I CHOOSE THIS? Because, as the description says, this punch is “served at all their gay affairs.”

My mother-in-law sent this beautiful collection of recipes to me the other day. It’s quite a piece of work. Prayers at the beginning of each chapter. A collection of recipes from priests affiliated with the parish. And the recipe for punch, which came from the kids section. I can’t get over this one.

Punch

  • 1 can pineapple juice
  • 1 small can grapefruit juice
  • 1 can frozen lemonade
  • 1 can frozen orange juice
  • 1 bottle soda
  • white port wine

Cherries may be frozen in center of ice cubs for effect.

Leave a Reply

