Meatless Tuesday: Linguine with pine nuts and asparagus

IMG_2503

The Wife resented my implication that she hid the pine nuts on me last week.

She called me a name. She reminded me that she “can’t reach that effing shelf without climbing on something.” And, she reminded me that I was deflecting my own mistake on to her. I offered her the opportunity to rebut my claims, but she opted to take the high road (again). That high road stuff gets annoying after a while, which is exactly why she does it.

That, and hiding things on me.

IMG_2494So, pine nuts in hand and another banner week of asparagus at Wegmans meant that we would finally put Real Simple‘s recipe to the test. On Tuesday. Yeah, Meatless Monday never happened this week. My Monday at work ran long and turned into leftovers from last week/weekend.

IMG_2499WHAT WORKED: Simplicity. The dish is basically pasta with broccoli with another green veggie. Rather than sautéing the garlic solo, using pine nuts added another layer of flavor and texture.

WHAT DIDN’T: Shaved parmesan. My cheese shaver is in the shop. I went with grated Pecorino romano.

WHAT DID THE WIFE SAY: Nothing about dinner. She was on a bit of a work-related rant. That’s what happens when you are married to a teacher in New York state. That said, she had three bowls of pasta. I’ll take that as an affirmation.

WILL IT MAKE ANOTHER APPEARANCE: Sure. I’m wondering how this might go with a different type of pasta (kamut or quinoa) that might enhance the nuttiness of the pignoli.

IMG_2498Linguine with pine nuts and asparagus
Adapted from Real Simple

  • 1 lb. linguine 
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts
  • 4 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 2 lbs. asparagus, trimmed and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1 cup shaved Parmesan

IMG_2501Cook the pasta according to the package directions; drain the pasta and return it to the pot.

Meanwhile, heat the oil in a medium skillet over medium heat. Add the pine nuts and garlic and cook, stirring frequently, until golden, 1 to 2 minutes. Add the asparagus and cook, tossing occasionally, until just tender, 2 to 3 minutes.

Add the asparagus mixture to the pasta along with 1 teaspoon salt and ¼ teaspoon pepper and toss to combine. Sprinkle with the Parmesan before serving.

Leave a Reply

