Grocery list: March 17, 2013

2013-03-17 at 08-16-40Here’s where I come in on this St. Patrick’s Day thing: I don’t. I don’t subscribe to the “everyone’s Irish on St. Patrick’s Day” theory. I don’t wear green. I don’t like Shamrock Shakes. And, I don’t like corned beef and cabbage.

Corned beef and cabbage tastes like sweaty gym shorts. The truest thing I’ve heard all week was said by Greg Hughes, co-host of the national radio show “Opie & Anthony” on SiriusXM radio. He made the point that if corned beef and cabbage were any good, it would cooked more than once a year.

Don’t get me wrong. I really like corned beef. And, I do like cabbage. But, not together.

I’m of the opinion that if corned beef and cabbage were any good that The Palm would serve it. Hubert Keller, Michael Mina and Gary Danko would stylize it and add it to their prix fixe menus. Paula Deen would figure out how to make it with 7 lbs. of butter.

But they don’t. It’s niche and terrible all at the same time. It’s the Hamburger/Tuna/Chicken Helper of ethnic food. The fact is that corned beef and cabbage has little to do with Irish cuisine. It’s an Irish-American ghetto dish, cooked because immigrants of the 19th and 20th centuries were dirt poor. The Irish detest the dish and, apparently, mock it.

So, good work America.

/soapbox

Leave a Reply

