Eat The Freezer/Meatless Monday: Kale and white bean stew

NOTE: Remember when The Cosby Show or The Golden Girls would run a clip show? Welcome to my version of a clip show. Eat The Freezer is where we work through the frozen leftovers in my basement freezer.

NOTE II: The quart in the freezer was a little low on liquid, so I added a can of vegetable broth to bulk it up.

This is getting annoying.

For the second straight meal, I’ve made a stew that didn’t thicken. (Side note: I know, for all of the things I could complain about and things that could be wrong, I’m complaining about a stew that will not thicken.) Saturday’s chicken and biscuits came out soupy, as did tonight’s.

Now, I didn’t mind that this came out more like greens and beans and less like a bean stew. I guess I was just a little disappointed, again, in Bon Appetit for tossing out another recipe that came up just a little short.

WHAT WORKED: The ingredients themselves made for a nice combination and a hearty soup.

WHAT DIDN’T: It needed salt. Desperately.

WHAT DID THE WIFE SAY: “It’s missing something. I’m not sure what it is, but it needs something.” SALT! It’s missing salt, woman!

WILL IT MAKE ANOTHER APPEARANCE: It certainly will, thanks to the leftover quart in my freezer.

Kale and white bean stew
From Bon Appetit

  • 1 1/2 pounds kale leaves, center ribs and stems removed
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped peeled carrots
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 cup chopped shallots (about 4)
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • 2 15-ounce cans white beans (preferably organic), drained
  • 4 cups (or more) vegetable broth
  • 3 fresh thyme sprigs
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tablespoon Sherry wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons assorted chopped fresh herbs (such as tarragon, parsley, and chives)

Cook kale in large pot of boiling salted water 1 minute. Drain. Transfer to bowl of ice water to cool. Drain. Squeeze out excess water. Coarsely chop kale.

Heat olive oil in medium pot over medium heat. Add chopped carrots, celery, shallots, and garlic; cook until soft, stirring, about 15 minutes (do not brown vegetables). Add white wine and simmer until liquid is slightly reduced, about 7 minutes. Add white beans, 4 cups broth, thyme sprigs, and bay leaf and bring to boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer 20 minutes. Add kale and simmer 5 minutes longer. Remove thyme sprigs and bay leaf. Add more broth by 1/2 cupfuls to thin stew, if desired. Mix in Sherry wine vinegar and chopped fresh herbs. Season with salt and pepper.

2 thoughts on “Eat The Freezer/Meatless Monday: Kale and white bean stew”

  1. I made this once with a bunch of added salt, a cup less broth, and a pound of Trader Joe’s mixed southern greens substituted for the kale, as that was all I could scavenge from the pre-hurricane shopping melee, and I thought it was excellent. Today I made it properly with the kale, and I ended up adding the full four cups of broth because when I first put the kale in it seemed like there wasn’t enough liquid. And now it’s kind of bland and too soupy. And the other greens weren’t as tough, either. So I recommend the substitution: save yourself the washing and chopping and just throw the Trader Joe’s greens in there.

Leave a Reply

