Al Dente Frozen: Strawberry ice cream

IMG_2009

We ate a lot of ice cream in our house when I was a kid. There was always a half-gallon or two in the freezer, open to whomever got to it first. The only problem is that my mother picked out the flavors and it was always something with chocolate. Now, don’t get me wrong, chocolate ice cream is fine but it gets a little old after a while. You wanted something different. A change of pace. I would have actually done my homework on a more regular basis for, say, strawberry ice cream. But, not that store-brand stuff with the little bits of strawberry. I wanted Breyer’s with those enormous chunks of strawberries mixed in.

IMG_2007Eh, who am I kidding? There’s no way I was going to do my homework. And there was no way my parents were dropping Breyer’s cash on our store-brand budget.

After Saturday’s fail with the salted caramel ice cream, I decided to get back to basics with this next batch. It doesn’t get more basic than milk, cream, sugar, salt and strawberries.

IMG_2008I opted for frozen fruit, simply because it’s more reliable and economical than fresh right now. I left them on the counter for about 15 to 20 minutes to soften them a bit before trimming them into spoon-sized pieces.

Strawberry ice cream
By Jared Paventi

  • 1 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used skim)
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen or fresh strawberries, hulled and trimmed into pieces
  • 2-3 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Whisk together cream and milk until blended. Add the sugar, salt and vanilla. Whisk until the sugar is dissolved. Add the strawberries to the cream mixture and stir until combined.

IMG_2010

Add to your frozen ice cream maker bowl and operate per the manufacturer’s instructions (Cuisinart said 15 to 20 minutes. I let it go 20.). Eat immediately from the bowl with a large spoon or transfer the ice cream to a resealable plastic container and put in the freezer for 2 to 4 hours to harden.

One thought on “Al Dente Frozen: Strawberry ice cream”

Leave a Reply

