Grocery list: January 27, 2013 (The heated edition)

photo-14This weekend was a washout. The plan was to go see “Zero Dark Thirty” today, followed by an early dinner at Cantina Laredo. Instead, The Wife and I have forfeited. Defeated by a furnace, a heating and air conditioning company and a home warranty.

Last weekend, the furnace bonked. I had just come back from Starbucks to find cold air blowing through the heating system. The Wife, perturbed, took The Kid to the inlaws and left me to deal with the repair tech. He got things up and running with a temporary fix but encouraged us to go for the $900 permanent repair. With that in mind, I put in a claim to my American Home Shield home warranty. They dispatched another furnace company, which confirmed that my ECM inductor was shot. He ordered the part, which is only shipped by furnace manufacturer Trane on an as needed basis, and it arrived Friday. It should be noted that Friday was one of the coldest days of the year in Syracuse.

After four hours of work, the furnace was not firing. Apparently, the circuit board shipped by Trane was defective. This meant that we would not have heat on Friday night. This was 6:30 p.m. and my first floor interior temperature was already hovering in the mid-50s. The home warranty company, when called, washed their hands of the issue, refusing to pay him to go to the previous configuration so I would have heat, BUT offering me reimbursement of up to $125 for portable heaters. Naturally, The Home Depot in Camillus was low in stock, but I still purchased $122 worth.

Friday night was chilly. Outside, it got to -2. Inside, we bottomed out at 48 degrees. I spoke to the repair guy on Saturday morning, who said that a replacement circuit board was available at a supply house in Syracuse, but that office was closed. The company actually sent a staff member to the office to open up so my guy could get a part. By 1 p.m., my furnace was running. Five hours later, we were toasty. By 8 p.m., I shed a sweatshirt because I thought it was too warm.

In the process, my furnace guy discovered that my furnace was installed incorrectly. Apparently, the in-line humidifier was not working and the in-line electrostatic filter was incorrectly wired. This was all done by the company who comes by once a year for maintenance and assures me that everything is working fine. It’s worth noting that the furnace was three years old when we bought the house in 2007.

So, to make a long story short, Al Dente officially endorses JMG Heating and Air Conditioning of Kirkville, N.Y. as its official heating and air conditioning company. We are merely irritated at American Home Shield. Al Dente is also irate at Holbrook Heating and Air Conditioning, and Trane. I smite both of thee.

This week we’re going to try something out of the latest edition of Wegmans’ Menu magazine, eat a lot of white beans and see what else is going on in my freezer.

One thought on “Grocery list: January 27, 2013 (The heated edition)”

Leave a Reply

