Like Christmas All Over Again

2013-01-23 at 17-39-10

“Can you grab that?”

The Wife and I pulled into the driveway at almost the same time tonight. The Kid was at The In-Laws, so she had a handful of work stuff. The “that” in question was a large, unmarked box that sat in the vestibule by our main entrance door, the mysterious contents of which occurred to us at the same time.

Beer.

2013-01-23 at 17-38-59The Wife, long a supporter of my gluttony, enrolled me in the Microbrewed Beer of the Month Club for Christmas. This was my first delivery. I tore into the box like it was Christmas morning, wondering what was waiting behind the packing materials.

Two different brewers had two of their beers featured, meaning I had 12 glorious bottles to enjoy. Among them:

  • Emancipator Doppelbock from Christian Moerlein Brewing Company (Cincinnati). 7.5% and 27 IBU.
  • Moerlein’s Original Lager. 5.2%, 19 IBU.
  • Heavy Seas Small Craft Warning Über Pils from Clipper City Brewing Company (Baltimore). 7.0%, 48 IBU.
  • Heavy Seas Gold Ale from Clipper City. 4.75%, 20 IBU.

2013-01-23 at 17-38-26

This has now been added to my current cellared selections, which include:

I’d invite you over to share, but like The Kid, I don’t do that particularly well.

One thought on “Like Christmas All Over Again”

Leave a Reply

