Meatless Monday/Eat The Freezer: Greens and beans

lentils + escarole

I’m not entirely sure how I made greens and beans without posting the recipe here. My best guess is that I made it while I was sick (you eat chicken soup; I will eat greens and beans) and decided to finish cooking so I could eat and convalesce, and not write a lengthy rambling post.

Truth be told, this isn’t totally meatless. The only proper way to start a batch of greens and beans is with pancetta. When rendered, it adds all of the salt and just about all of the fat you need for the dish. It’s really one of the most underrated foods out there, no matter how much Giada likes to annunciate everything.

Where did I leave off, OH, yeah, so I don’t really have any photos. I mean, I could take a picture of the freezer container but that wouldn’t really offer too much in the case of a visual. Instead, I took something from the WordPress bank of photos. So, here it goes:

Scarola e ceci (greens and beans)
By Jared Paventi

  • 16 oz. escarole, cleaned and chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 cup cubed pancetta
  • 14-15 oz. can cannellini beans
  • 3 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil

In a Dutch oven over medium heat, bring olive oil to a shimmer. Add the pancetta and brown, rendering the fat. Add the garlic and cook until aromatic. Add the escarole and toss to coat. When escarole begins to wilt, add the broth and beans. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low and cook 15 minutes covered. Serve hot with grated cheese and crusty bread.

Note: This recipe can be easily double, tripled or septupled depending on your needs.

Leave a Reply

