Eat the freezer

This is the second freezer, located at the bottom of the basement stairs.
This is the second freezer, located at the bottom of the basement stairs.

We’ve discussed at length here how eating was rewarded in my family. My parents were/are large people and I am as well. It wasn’t always what we ate as it was portion size. Or maybe it was the size of the second and third portions. Anyhow, one of the reasons I think that we ate so much in my youth is that my parents cooked so much food.

The circle hasn’t been broken. I’m pretty guilty of this too. I usually do it with things like soups or sauces, where breaking down half or quarter recipes do not make sense. We don’t clean the pot at dinner, opting to freeze leftovers for a later date. Here’s the problem: the later date doesn’t always come. Recently, I defrosted and disposed of a three-year-old quart of soup. Eeek.

So, in the interest of freezer space and not letting food go to waste, at least one meal per week for the near future will come out of the basement freezer. It starts tomorrow.

And, yes, this means that we’ll be eating more soup here. If that were possible…

Leave a Reply

