Grocery list: November 25, 2012

The answer is: Five hours.

The question is: How long did The Wife’s aunt and The Mother-In-Law cook a 14-pound turkey on Thanksgiving day?

Five.

Hours.

(In terms of temperature, she went the duration at 325. To compare, I cooked a 15-pounder last Sunday for three and a half, the first hour at 450 degrees and the remainder at 325.)

Needless to say, the turkey was…hmm…a touch on the dry side.

These are fine, lovely, upstanding, giving people, who have been nothing but welcoming to my family and caring to us during times of crisis and loss. They are wonderful with my daughter and are just solid people.

I just…how do I say this…five hours?

Digressing…

This week’s grocery excursion was sans The Wife. Just me and The Kid storming through Wegmans and Target. The Wife has me hunting (already) for non-perishable items to serve on Christmas morning when the assorted family members come over. Thus far, we have crackers, M&Ms and Hershey’s Kisses. That is some nutritious stuff right there. We’re in the very early stages of planning for Phase I, II, III and IV of Christmas day…

Phase I: Early morning gift opening with my sister, The Kid, The Wife and me.

Phase II: Late morning gathering of whomever is in town and around. Mostly parents, aunts, uncles and the diaspora of cousindry.

Phase III: Christmas dinner (my sister is already harping on what we’re going to make).

Phase IV: Late afternoon present opening with the grandparents.

An unofficial Phase V usually happens around 8, after The Kid is long asleep. This is the scrounge phase, where my sister and I are noshing on bagels and whatever beer happens to be left in the house.

Anyhow, this week’s grocery list will yield the following dinners this week:

  • Portugese chicken and rice
  • Turkey empanadas
  • Beef stew with egg noodles
  • Barley stew with leeks, mushrooms and greens
  • Some sort of pasta with marinara
One thought on “Grocery list: November 25, 2012”

Leave a Reply

