This week at Al Dente: September 9, 2012

It’s my father’s birthday. That has nothing to do with anything I’ll write about today, but he’s 65. I now have a parent who is a senior citizen, statistically speaking. If you want to bust his ass about how old he is or just say happy birthday, drop him an email (ppaventi at yahoo dot com). I’m sure he’ll be delighted that I gave out his address.

Anyhow, this is the last week of thoughtful menu planning and Sunday morning shopping trips for the month of September. We’re not fasting or anything. My Walk To End Alzheimer’s season gets going one week from today, which means that every Saturday and Sunday for the rest of the month will see me up at an obscene hour to pull donation reports, drive to a park somewhere in Upstate New York and count money. If you haven’t registered for the Walk To End Alzheimer’s in your area, I highly encourage you to visit www.alz.org/walk. If you are interested in making a donation, you can support my Walk effort with your Visa, MasterCard or Discover card.

Layla and I went grocery shopping today. Between this list and yesterday’s trip to the CNY Regional Market, dinner this week will include:

  • Homemade pizza. I’m thinking a Grandma’s with fresh roasted tomatoes and spinach/garlic.
  • Farro Pasta with Tomato Vinaigrette ala Alice Waters
  • BLTs with bacon from a local pig farm
  • Chicken with Herb-Roasted Tomatoes and Pan Sauce ala Bon Appetit
Leave a Reply

