Grocery list: August 26, 2012

I’m going to let you in on a little secret: Sometimes I trim the expiration dates off the top of coupons. Don’t judge. I’m sure you’ve done it too.

I know this makes me a bad person. Usually the cashiers at Wegmans and Target don’t notice. I get my $1 off two boxes of cereal or whatever, the store gets reimbursed for the coupon and life goes on. Except today, when my my Dove for Men body wash coupon rang up expired at the register. The cashier didn’t flag it, but the computer caught it. Apparently, some manufacturers are putting the expiry dates in the UPC code, triggering a Bright Boy Alert.

Bastards.

Today’s grocery list, plus yesterday’s trip to the farmer’s market, will lead to the following meals this week:

  • Barbacoa a la Rick Bakas
  • Eggplant, Mozzarella, Saffron and Rice Bake, a la Bon Appetit
  • Grilled chicken of some sort

There will also be an orzo side dish, made with Flour City emmer orzo, roasted organic sugar snap peas and string bean salad. Plus, I just finished a batch of pickles that are now brining in the cave (my 1960s era refrigerator in the basement).

I also need to get a review together of last night’s trip to Koto, and there will be a Friday evening dinner at The Restaurant at Elderberry Pond on Friday. All in all, a big eatin’ week around here.

Leave a Reply

