Last week at Al Dente: Rehoboth Beach, Del., Media, Pa., Coffee and Beer (Part III)

Final thoughts from the trip, which do not warrant their own post.

The Trader Joe’s haul.
  • Worried about my kid barking all over the backseat of the car, we broke six-hour ride home into segments. The first stop was in Media, Pa. and its Trader Joe’s. Built into a former armory in the village, the oblong store is one of the chain’s smaller locations. As per Pennsylvania’s obnoxious arcane blue laws, there are no beer sales either. But, there was everything else I was looking for. Extra virgin olive oil? Check. Pasta? Check, check and check. Coffee? Ohhhhhh yes. Edamame crackers? Them too. $107 later, I was loading the car while my kid was pitching an epic meltdown on East State Street. (Something about having to get back into the car. She fell asleep about an hour later in the Lehigh Valley, just in time for her planned stop at our friends to run around. Our third stop was the visitor’s center at the New York-Pennsylvania state line.)
  • The Wife took umbrage with my coffee criticism of the other day, and I feel a need to clarify. In no way, shape or form was I criticizing her coffeemaking abilities. All I said was that the coffee was “rancid” and “utter crap.” At no point did I say that was a result of my spouse’s ability to mix water and grounds in a coffeemaker.
  • Before we left for vacation, The Wife asked me what coffee to buy. She said that she could get Starbucks or Peet’s at the grocery store. I said that it didn’t matter, but asked her not to buy store brand or Folgers. She picked up Archer Farms, Target’s house brand. So, while she does make a nice cup of coffee, she did handicap herself.
  • Every year I bring home more than I drink on vacation. This year, my 2007 Honda Pilot crossed multiple state lines with two cases made up of Dogfish Head Chicory Stout, Shiner Bock, Shiner Ruby Redbird and 21st Amendment Brew Free or Die IPA. It is in the cellar and awaiting a gluttonous binge to be named later.
  • Atlantic Liquors advertises itself as the greatest liquor store in the world. It may fall slightly short of greatest, but definitely ranks in the “damn good” category. It feels like you are shopping at BJ’s or Sam’s Club, but who the hell cares? It’s beer. Glorious beer. $60 later, I was loaded up for the ride home (You know what I mean.).
Leave a Reply

