Tuesday dinner: Chicken and quinoa burritos

Our first week back has been more about getting back to normal and less about, well, everything else. The jet lag has kicked my rear end, so it’s not uncommon to find my daughter smacking me in the head while I lay on the floor to wake me up. The adjustment to work has been a bit of a challenge; not the work itself, of course, but the fact that I’m at my desk and not walking up some hill. No falling asleep there, but I do miss the luxury of a mid-afternoon nap.

Tuesday’s dinner was a quick-and-easy meal that I ran across on Pinterest (If you are not following me there, you ought to. I archive my grocery lists, recipes, restaurant reviews and keep a running list of what’s next up in my kitchen, much of it accompanied by my subpar photography.). I picked it up from Real Simple, the official magazine of 30something women and a publication that my sister swears by.

I took some liberties with the recipe, as you’ll see, but held pretty true to the spirit of the original.

WHAT WORKED: Protein. There was a lot of it in this meal, beginning with the chicken, continuing through the avocados and ending with the quinoa. If I cooked it to the recipe, it would have netted 38 grams per burrito.

WHAT DIDN’T: The chicken. In a pinch, I will use store-cooked rotisserie chicken, but those of the Wegmans variety are typically quite greasy. I opted to cube and pan-fry my own chicken thighs. It worked just as well.

WILL IT MAKE ANOTHER APPEARANCE: Perhaps. Somewhere along the line this winter these burritos could make another appearance.

Chicken and quinoa burritos
Adapted from Real Simple

  • 4 tortillas, burrito-sized
  • 3/4 lb. boneless chicken thighs, cubed
  • 1 cup black beans, drained and heated
  • 1 cup quinoa, cooked
  • 1 1/2 cups Monterrey jack cheese, shredded
  • 1 cup cilantro, chopped
  • 1 avocado, diced

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees.

Preheat a large nonstick skillet over high heat. Add the chicken cubes and brown thoroughly. During the last minute of cooking, add cilantro and toss with a wooden spoon.

Evenly divide the chicken, beans, quinoa, cheese and avocado among the tortillas and roll tightly. If you wish, sprinkle some cheese on the top. Place the burritos on a lined cookie sheet and bake five minutes, or until the cheese melts.

Serve hot with your favorite salsa, guacamole and/or sour cream.

Leave a Reply

