Thursday dinner: Pollo alla valdostana

It’s tough being a male food blogger.

Most of the food blogerati are of the female persuasion making both me and my problem a minority.

You see my problem is, even though I’ll celebrate my 35th birthday in August, my sense of humor hovers in the realm of the “back of a middle school bus.” I think fart and dick jokes are funny. I’m not proud of it, but I’m also not ashamed either. It’s who I am.

Tonight’s dinner required me to use a meat hammer and, you know, pound the meat. See what I mean? Taking the meat hammer out of the drawer was enough, but  reading the phrase “pound it to an even thickness” had me laughing like I was being tickled. Like I said, I’m still 12 years old.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I liked this recipe from the outset and not just for the masturbatory humor. It has a versatility to it. I mean, it’s basically chicken cordon bleu, right? So, while I love proscuitto and fontina, I think this would be spectacular with serrano and manchego.

My only real complaint is that the shear amount of oil and butter used to start it and create the sauce, when combined with the cheese and ham, could shut down an aorta. In retrospect, I would have probably pared the recipe down to just the two tablespoons of olive oil.

For a side tonight, I went with Jane Maynard’s very excellent roasted asparagus. I’m not sure I have ever seen The Wife so excited to see a vegetable. I cracked the oven to check the veggies and after peaking, she let out a coo. I thought The Baby had done something cute.

Pollo alla valdostana
Adapted from Chow.com 

  • Two boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1/2 cup pan-searing flour
  • Kosher salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 2-3 oz. thinly sliced prosciutto
  • 2-3 oz. thinly sliced fontina cheese

Place 1 chicken breast between 2 sheets of plastic wrap or parchment paper and use a meat mallet or a frying pan to gently pound it to an even thickness, about 1/2 inch. Repeat with the remaining breasts.

Dredge each breast in a bowl of pan-searing flour and shake off any excess.

Add the butter and oil to a large frying pan over medium heat. When it foams, add the chicken breasts and sauté until golden brown, about four minutes per side. Remove to a plate and set aside.

Add the wine and scrape the bottom of the pan with a wooden spoon to incorporate any browned bits into the sauce.

Return the chicken to the pan and reduce the heat to low. Divide the prosciutto among the chicken breasts, then divide the cheese. Cook, spooning sauce over the chicken to help melt the cheese, until the sauce has slightly thickened, about three minutes.

One thought on “Thursday dinner: Pollo alla valdostana”

Leave a Reply

