Monday Dinner: Pasta with chicken and tomatoes

Something was off with me the moment I returned from my vacation. I chalked it up to the physical and mental exhaustion of the trip, including the 10-hour-marathon drive on Saturday. I spent the better part of yesterday asleep, nursing a fever between 100 and 102 degrees. Today, I’ve added some less than pleasant digestive distress to the menu. All the while I’ve had nagging sciatic nerve pain, possibly from sitting in the same position for 10 hours on Saturday.

That said, it was my last day of vacation so I had some time to do a little more involved dance with dinner. I asked The Wife if she wanted burgers or pasta with chicken, she surprisingly went with the latter. This worked out well, as the garden is beginning to produce some tomatoes and I have more basil than I know what to do with. Ordinarily, I like to do this recipe on this grill, but the intense heat and my new biological horror kept me inside to use the broiler. Either way, this is a pretty easy recipe to put together and a great way to use some fresh produce.

Pasta with Chicken and Tomatoes
By Jared Paventi

  • 2 to 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, trimmed and sliced into tenders
  • 4 to 5 plum tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/4 cup basil, chopped
  • 2 cups balsamic vinegar, divided
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 lb. dry pasta
  • kosher salt
  • olive oil

Submerge the chicken in a bowl with 1 cup of balsamic vinegar. Let marinate for 1 hour but up to 24 hours.

Combine the chopped tomatoes, garlic and 1 cup of vinegar in a bowl. Add a splash of olive oil and mix thoroughly. Let stand 1 hour.

Preheat your oven’s broiler to high. Cook chicken 5 to 6 minutes, turn and cook another 5 minutes. In the meantime, bring a pan of water to boil for the pasta, add the salt and cook the pasta per the directions on the package.

Drain the pasta, top with tomato mixture, chicken, herb and parmesan cheese (optional).

Leave a Reply

