Boom Boom

It started as a stand at The New York State Fair. Back when before I got married and entertained such ideas by The Wife, we would venture to the 10-day peoplewatching festival in Geddes, N.Y. I would try to make my way to the barbecue/taco stand near the international pavilion, if for no other reason than the nachos were hulking and cheap.

Four years ago, the stand became a seasonal oasis — Boom Boom Mex Mex. The roadhouse taco stand on the corner of Howlett Hill and Corporal Welch Roads in Camillus opens its doors each spring in mid-April and stays open until it’s too cold for the husband and wife to bear. They close the doors in November and return to her native San Miguel de Allende in Mexico for the winter.

The long cold winter.

The long cold winter until Lupe throws open the doors and welcomes me back with pastor. Ohhhhh, pork al pastor. I’m a creature of habit, as is The Wife, so our typical order at Boom Boom is a combination of four tacos and chips. I get the three taco plate, The Wife gets one and we load up on the regional delicacy that marries smokey, mild peppers with a hint of sweetness. Perfection on a tortilla.

The menu at Boom Boom is limited. Tacos, burritos, salads and quesadillas can be stuffed with refried beans, poblano peppers and cheese, pastor, seasoned ground beef, herb-marinated chicken or chicken in a chipotle sauce. I had the latter once. The heat was mild, but it wrecked me digestively. The flavor was great, but apparently I’m too delicate for such things.

The Mexican platter offers the choice of two meats, vegetables and tortillas for a make-your-own taco experience. Dishes are finished with Mexican rice, homemade pico de gallo (damn good…a shade beneath the offering at The Mission), shredded cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, onions, cilantro, guacamole, sour cream and jalepeño peppers. Tacos are also available traditional style with pineapple.

Saturday night’s meal for me was a slight break from the regular. I added poblano peppers to my all pork lineup. It will stay in the future. The mild heat from the pepper made for a nice complement to the pork and pico pile on my plate (I’m disgusted at my use of alliteration.).

One of the hidden gems at Boom Boom is the aqua frescas, or watermelon water. The summer fruit is pressed and strained and the resulting mana is served ice cold. It’s not quite as sweet as a Goya nectar drink, but pretty close.

Now here’s the problem. The chips are terrible. I can deal with Sysco foodservice tortilla chips, but fresh queso would be nice. Hell, they have it at Moe’s Southwest Grill, you’d think I could get it here, right? No. Instead nachos are topped with that rancid orange shit you get at the mall or in a high school cafeteria. One would think that a restaurant promoting itself as authentic would try a little harder in this department. One would be wrong.

Now, does it stop us from ordering the chips with cheese? No. If you drown it with enough salsa, the synthetic flavor can be masked. And, when you consider the pastor and poblanos, it’s easily forgotten.

Mmmmmmmm. Poblanos. I see some in my future this week.

9 thoughts on “Boom Boom”

Leave a Reply

