Thursday Dinner: Pork tenderloin with mustard-dill sauce

If I had a deck, I would grill during the winter.

Check that. If I had a deck and the back of my house at gutters, I would grill more. (There. Much better.)

After The Wife and I got married, we rented half of a duplex in Liverpool. The kitchen opened out to a deck, which made winter grilling a possibility. I really didn’t like to do it, if for no other reason then it takes forever for the grill to get hot and you add at least five minutes to any meat’s cooking time. Plus, we would get these roof overhang-to-deck ice walls that would prevent me from exiting.

I also found it especially brutal to grill during a snowstorm. It’s funny what will stop you from doing things. Grill in a blizzard? Sure! Walk to my garage to get the grill out and cook? Too far to walk.

So. Far. Away.

Our house does not have a deck (or gutters, for that matter), so grilling means walking about 200-300 feet from my side door to the aforementioned detached garage. Again, this is fine during July, but there’s no possible way I’m doing it in March.

In addition to grilling, the recipe from Epicurious also calls for a quick-pickled zucchini as a side. I scratched this off, as neither The Wife or I particularly care for zucchini. The mustard sauce went together quite easily and the dill made for a nice flavor offset of the mustard’s sharpness and the honey’s sweetness.

Pork tenderloin with mustard-dill sauce
Adapted from Epicurious/Bon Appetit

  • 2 tablespoons white balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh dill
  • 1/4 cup Dijon mustard
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 1-pound pork tenderloin

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Meanwhile, whisk chopped dill, vinegar, dijon mustard, honey, and water in medium bowl. Season sauce with salt and pepper. Spoon 2-4 tablespoons of the sauce over the tenderloin to lightly coat.

Add pork tenderloin to oven and cook 15 minutes at 450. Reduce heat to 350 and cook for additional 20-25 minutes, or until internal temperature measures 145 degrees. Transfer to plate and let rest 10 minutes. Slice into 1/2-inch thick pieces and serve with remaining sauce.

One thought on “Thursday Dinner: Pork tenderloin with mustard-dill sauce”

Leave a Reply

