Soup Week: ____ Clam Chowder

I dislike Boston. I hate the Red Sox. I’m glad The Big Dig took so long, cost the state a ton of money and broke immediately. I really hate Logan Airport. Newberry Street can eat it. Southie and South Boston can kiss each others asses.

To be honest, I’m really not much for New England itself. But, I like clams and I really like clams in my soup.

I was looking for a quick clam chowder recipe for dinner one evening and came across this one from Dave Lieberman at The Food Network. It’s not as creamy as I’d like, but the use of canned clams means I can load it up with as many or as few clams as I want without having to worry about wasting fresh. And, fresh clams in January is a toughie.

New England Clam Chowder
Adapted from FoodNetwork.com

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 medium onion, finely diced
  • 2 celery stalks (reserve tender leaves) trimmed, quartered lengthwise, then sliced into 1/4-inch pieces
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 can vegetable broth
  • 1 bottle clam juice
  • 1 10-ounce can whole clams, separated
  • 1 6-8 can chopped clams, separated
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 pound Yukon gold potatoes, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Heat the butter in a large saucepan or dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add the onion and celery and saute until softened, mixing often. Stir in the flour to distribute evenly. Add the broth, juice from 2 cans of chopped clams, cream, bay leaves, and potatoes and stir to combine. Bring to a simmer, stirring consistently (the mixture will thicken), then reduce the heat to medium-low and cook 20 minutes, stirring often, until the potatoes are tender. Then add clams and season to taste with salt and pepper, cook until clams are just firm, another 2 minutes.

One thought on “Soup Week: ____ Clam Chowder”

Leave a Reply

